Bones of foot

The human foot (Latin: pes) is the terminal part of the lower limb, which bears weight and allows locomotion. It is a strong and biomechanically complex structure composed mainly of bones, joints, tendons, muscles, and ligaments. 26 bones comprise the skeleton of the human foot providing structural support. These bones can be categorized into three groups:

    • tarsal bones (7);
    • metatarsal bones (5);
    • phalanges (14).

The tarsal bones are seven bones located between the bones of the leg (tibia and fibula) and the metatarsal bones of the foot.

The metatarsal bones are five long bones forming the middle of the foot, located between the tarsal bones and the phalanges.

The phalanges are found in the digits of the feet and hands. The big toe has two phalanges (proximal and distal), similar to the thumb. The rest of the digits each have three phalanges - proximal, middle, and distal.

Apart from the main bones of the skeleton of the foot, there can often be found variants of accessory bones near the metatarsophalangeal joints, called the sesamoid bones, which help improve the function of the foot.