Nasal bone

The nasal bone (latin: os nasale) is a paired bone forming the anterior wall of the nasal cavity and it is largely responsible for the shape of the nose. The nasal bones are variable in size and form in different individuals.

Each nasal bone has two surfaces (outer and inner) and four borders (superior, inferior, medial, lateral).

The outer surface of the nasal bone is convex from side to side, and covered by the procerus and nasalis muscles.

The inner surface of the nasal bone is concave from side to side, and it features a groove for the passage of a branch of the nasociliary nerve.

The nasal bone articulates with four bones: two of the neurocranium - the frontal and ethmoid bones, and two of the viscerocranium - the opposite nasal bone and the maxilla.