Quadriceps femoris

The quadriceps femoris (also quadriceps extensor, quadriceps or quads, latin: musculus quadriceps femoris) is large muscle group placed in the anterior and partly in the lateral region of thigh.

The quadriceps femoris consists of four muscles:

  • rectus femoris,
  • vastus medialis,
  • vastus intermedius,
  • vastus lateralis.

Each one of these muscles arises from a different origin, but their insertion site is common.  The four muscles of the quadriceps femoris form a common tendon near the patella, that fastens to the tibial tuberosity.

The quadriceps femoris is the great extensor muscle of the knee, it moves the lower leg forward. Another function of the quadriceps femoris is flexion of the hip.

The motor nerve supply to the quadriceps femoris is provided by the femoral nerve that arises from the lumbar plexus.