Tarsometatarsal joints

The tarsometatarsal joints (also Lisfranc`s joint, latin: articulationes tarsometatarsales) are gliding joints located in the foot between the bones of the second row of the tarsus and the metatarsal bones.

The set of tarsometatarsal joints is also known as the Lisfranc`s joint, named after the pioneering French surgeon Jacques Lisfranc de St. Martin.

The tarsometatarsal joints consist of three isolated joints that involve the cuboid bone and  three cuneiform bones (the second row of the tarsus), and the metatarsal bones.

The first metatarsal bone articulates with the medial cuneiform bone. The second and third metatarsal bones - with the intermediate cuneiform. The fourth and fifth metatarsals articulate with the cuboid bone.

The articular surfaces of the tarsometatarsal joints are:

  • articular surfaces on the distal side of the cuboid bone,
  • articular surfaces of the cuneiform bones,
  • bases of the metatarsal bones.

The tarsometatarsal joints are embraced by a fibrous capsule. The joints are stabilized by the following ligaments: the dorsal and plantar metatarsal ligaments and the interosseous cuneometatarsal ligaments.

The tarsometatarsal joints permit only slight gliding movements.